The Olympic Federation of Ireland (OFI) has approved the nomination of a nine-strong Irish swimming team for the upcoming Tokyo Games.

Those who have achieved a FINA 'A' Olympic Qualifying time are Daniel Wiffen, Danielle Hill, Darragh Greene, Mona McSharry Shane Ryan and Ellen Walshe, the Templeogue swimmer getting in after some initial confusion about the qualifying process.

Finn McGeever and Jack McMillan have been selected as ‘relay-only’ athletes to compete in the men’s 4x200m freestyle along with Brendan Hyland and Shane Ryan.

Hyland has been selected on a FINA 'B' time and Ryan makes up the quartet.

Hyland is Ireland’s only athlete to receive a FINA ‘B’ invitation to attend the Games as the relay team requires at least two athletes who qualified with 'A' times in individual events.

The Tallaght swimmer has a 'B' time in the men's 200m butterfly.

As a result, two of the four swimmers - Jordan Sloan and Gerry Quinn, whose performances at the European Championships in May were crucial to ensuring Ireland’s invitation to the Tokyo 2020 men’s 4x200m freestyle Relay - cannot be selected under Olympic rules and miss out on travelling.

Ireland had originally qualified a men's medley relay squad but that was withdrawn by FINA who discovered that the Greek squad had recorded a faster time than Ireland ahead of the Olympic deadline.


Darragh Greene
Danielle Hill
Brendan Hyland
Finn McGeever
Jack McMillan
Mona McSharry
Shane Ryan
Ellen Walshe
Daniel Wiffen

Follow all the action from Tokyo 2020 with our 24-hour coverage on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app, watch live on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player or listen to updates and live commentaries on RTÉ Radio.