Swim Ireland’s team for the FINA World Championships in Korea July will be spearheaded by 2018 World short-course bronze medallist Shane Ryan.

National Performance Director Jon Rudd has confirmed a selection of ten athletes to the Irish team for the event in July of this year, following their sole selection trials, the Irish Open Swimming Championships in Dublin.

Backstroke specialist Ryan, who has made significant progress under the guidance of national senior team head coach Ben Higson since transferring his training base to the National Centre (Dublin) in January of this year, will be joined by World Youth Olympics medallist Niamh Coyne and World Junior silver medallist Conor Ferguson in Gwangju.

Darragh Greene, Jordan Sloan, Robbie Powell and Brendan Hyland also join the team, with Bangor’s Jack McMillan and Curtis Coulter and Templeogue’s Ellen Walshe also featuring in a group that will enter three relays at the Championships.

The eight-day event in Korea is the primary opportunity for nations to qualify their relays for the 2020 Olympic Games.
For the LEN European Junior Championships in Kazan, a blend of individual and relay performance has again been considered amongst the eight athletes selected, with Eoin Corby and Uiseann Cooke already displaying performances this season which will challenge the best in Europe when it comes to the event in June.

Corby also joins Amelia Kane and Daniel Wiffin as a trio who will challenge at this year’s FINA World Junior Championships in Budapest.
Nominations to the Olympic Federation of Ireland (OFI) have also been made for a small but focused team to feature at the IOC European Youth Olympic Festival in Baku, with Molly Mayne and Ellie McKibbin being considered by the OFI for selection ratification in the coming weeks.