Andrew Meegan was once again the star turn as he followed up his latest 1500m freestyle Irish record by setting another when he broke the eight-minute barrier in the 800m freestyle final at the Irish Short Course Swimming Championships in Lisburn on Sunday.

Meegan’s new Irish record was one of six set on Sunday bringing the overall total to 14 new records during the three-day championship.

Meegan became the first Irishman to swim under eight minutes in the 800m event, lowering his previous record set in January 2012 from 8:00.59 to 7:59.92.

Only yesterday Meegan broke the 1500m freestyle record at the championships.

Brendan Gibbons took second place in the 800m in a new Irish junior record of 8:06.29, breaking his previous record of 8:09.02 which he also only set on Saturday.

Having already picked up silver in both the 800m and 400m freestyle, Antoinette Neamt raced to gold in the 1500m freestyle final in a new Irish junior record of 16:40.22.

Neamt finished over 40 seconds ahead of second placed Ali Berry (17:20.30) and Lucy Gaynor (17:46.50).

Shauna O’Brien broke her second senior record of the championships, this time in the 50m butterfly final. O’Brien’s time of 27.14 knocked 0.16 of a second off the previous record that she had set at the 2012 championships.

Barry Murphy, meanwhile, won the men’s event in 23.93 seconds.

Grainne Murphy picked up her third gold of the championships in the 400m individual medley final with a time of 4:52.73. In the men’s event, Brendan Hyland also brought his national title tally to three when he won in 4:21.38, ahead of Ben Griffin (4:29.78) and Ronan Anderson (4:32.39).

Chelsey Wilson won the 100m backstroke to add to her 200m backstroke title while Brian O’Sullivan set his sixth Irish junior record of the weekend when winning the men’s 200m backstroke.

Both the women’s and men’s 200m freestyle finals made for exciting viewing with Bethany Carson of Lisburn taking the spoils in the women’s event in 2:00.84 and Curtis Coulter touching in 1:49.47 in the men’s, just half a second ahead of Brendan Hyland (1:50.08).

Niamh Kilgallen and Dearbhail McNamara battled it out in their third breaststroke event of the weekend in the 200m final.

Kilgallen had already won the 50m and 100m breaststroke titles but it was McNamara who touched first in the 200m with a time of 2:30.75. Galway’s Andrew Moore won the men’s event in 2:20.99.

In the last final of the weekend, Galway’s women (1:49.15) and Ards Men (1:33.27) won gold in the 4x50m freestyle relays.

Grainne Murphy’s 400m freestyle swim on Saturday secured her the Larry Williamson Memorial Trophy which is awarded for the ‘swim of the meet’.

The trophy is awarded to the swimmer gets closest to a world record time over the three days of competition.