Evan Ferguson and Will Smallbone have been included in the Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming matches with Norway and Malta.

Ferguson and Smallbone move up from the Under-21 squad as part of a 26-man squad for the friendly games.

Middlesbrough defender Darragh Lenihan returns to the squad after injury ruled him out of the September international window and Liverpool goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher is also named after his impressive display in the penalty shoot-out victory last night for Liverpool in the EFL Cup.

Dundee United midfielder Jamie McGrath is back in the fold after finding form again since returning to the Scottish Premiership.

Aberdeen defender Liam Scales and Wigan Athletic striker Will Keane also feature.

Ireland are set to face Norway at the Aviva Stadium on Thursday, 17 November with kick-off at 7.45pm.

Stephen Kenny's side will then travel to Ta'Quli to face Malta at the National Stadium the following Sunday at 7pm Irish time.

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathan Collins (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Darragh Lenihan (Middlesbrough), Liam Scales (Aberdeen, on loan from Celtic), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Robbie Brady (Preston North End).

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Jeff Hendrick (Reading, on loan from Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Will Smallbone (Stoke City, on loan from Southampton), Jamie McGrath (Dundee United).

Forwards: Michael Obafemi (Swansea City), Callum Robinson (Cardiff City), Scott Hogan (Birmingham City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Evan Ferguson (Brighton and Hove Albion), Callum O'Dowda (Cardiff City).

Watch Republic of Ireland v Norway live from the Aviva Stadium on Thursday 17 November on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player