The Republic of Ireland are heading for the World Cup after a famous play-off victory in Scotland on Tuesday night.

Vera Pauw's side have made the breakthrough they craved, getting over the line with a performance full of heart and courage in Glasgow, capped by Amber Barrett's brilliantly-taken and emotionally celebrated goal.

They can now look forward to the draw which takes place on Saturday, 22 October at the Aotea Centre in Auckland, New Zealand (7.30am Irish time).

Thirty-two teams will be drawn into eight groups of four, with sides allocated into pots based on their FIFA ranking as of 13 October. Each group will consist of a team from each pot.

Pot 1 is reserved for hosts Australia and New Zealand along with the six highest-ranked nations.

The next eight best ranked teams will go into Pot 2, with the following eight in Pot 3. The remaining sides, plus the three countries that come through February's inter-confederation play-offs, make up Pot 4.

Ireland will be housed in Pot 3. Best case scenario? Probably getting drawn with New Zealand and China.

The nightmare draw would see them in a group with the USA and Brazil, but the main thing for Pauw and Co is they are there, ready to go toe-to-toe with the best in the world.

POT 1 (world ranking in brackets - udpated on Friday 13 October, 2022)

Australia (13, co-host)
New Zealand (22, co-host)
USA (1)
Sweden (2)
Germany (3)
England (4)
France (5)
Spain (6)


Canada (7)
Netherlands (8)
Brazil (9)
Japan (11)
Norway (12)
Italy (14)
China (15)
South Korea (17)


Denmark (18)
Switzerland (21)
Republic of Ireland (24)
Colombia (27)
Argentina (29)
Vietnam (34)
Costa Rica (37)
Jamaica (43)


Nigeria (45)
Philippines (53)
South Africa (54)
Morocco (76)
Zambia (81)

Plus three teams from inter-confederation play-offs.