Derby County's Eiran Cashin and Doncaster Rovers’ Mipo Odubeko have both been handed their first Republic of Ireland Under-21 international call-up.

Manager Jim Crawford has named a 21-man squad for the U21 European Championship qualifier with Sweden later this month, a game that will be shown live on RTÉ.

The Boys in Green face a testing encounter in Borås, Sweden as they continue their push for qualification to the 2023 tournament in Georgia & Romania.

Cashin has impressed mightily at Derby and has won plaudits from his manager and supporters alike as the Rams continue their fight against what once looked to be certain relegation.

The 20-year-old is part of a strong Irish contingent at Derby and manager Wayne Rooney sees a bright future for the defender.

""I think Cashin has been incredible. He’s come in and I think he’s been incredible. His performances are way beyond his years – he deserves a lot of praise," he said.

Meanwhile Odubeko has impressed during his loan spell at Doncaster from West Ham and in January committed his future to Ireland, opting against a switch to Nigeria.

Andy Lyons of Shamrock Rovers has also been included in the squad while all three goalkeepers are league of Ireland players, albeit with Luke McNicholas on loan at Cliftonville from Sligo Rovers.

Ireland head to Group F leaders Sweden looking for a repeat of November’s 1-0 win over the Swedes. Ireland won the game in Tallaght thanks to Ollie O’Neill’s 92nd minute winner.

Republic of Ireland Under-21s Squad

Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (Derry City), Luke McNicholas (Cliftonville, on loan from Sligo Rovers), David Odumosu (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Defenders: Joel Bagan (Cardiff City), Eiran Cashin (Derby County), Andy Lyons (Shamrock Rovers), Mark McGuinness (Cardiff City), Jake O’Brien (Swindon Town, on loan from Crystal Palace), Lee O’Connor (Tranmere Rovers)

Midfielders: Conor Coventry (MK Dons, on loan from West Ham United), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Gavin Kilkenny (Bournemouth), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Ross Tierney (Motherwell)

Forwards: Festy Ebosele (Derby County), Evan Ferguson (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joshua 'JJ' Kayode (Rotherham United), Mipo Odubeko (Doncaster Rovers, on loan from West Ham United), Ollie O’Neill (Fulham), Colm Whelan (UCD), Tyreik Wright (Colchester United, on loan from Aston Villa)