Peterborough United midfielder Jack Taylor has been called up to the Republic of Ireland squad for Sunday's match against Luxembourg.

The uncapped Taylor, U21 Player of the Year in 2020, comes in in place of midfielder Jayson Molumby, who was ruled out with injury earlier this week.

The 23-year old central midfielder appears the squad for the first time since November 2020 and will travel with the squad later today to Luxembourg.

Andrew Omobamidele, who was ruled out of last night's 0-0 draw with Portugal, will also travel as he looks to recover from injury in time for Ireland's final FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifier.

Ireland need to win to finish third in Group A.

Republic of Ireland

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Sheffield United, on loan from Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jason Knight (Derby County), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren), Jack Taylor (Peterborough United).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).