Celtic defender Liam Scales has been called up to the Republic of Ireland squad for the first time, with Alan Browne and Callum Robinson also linking up with the squad for Saturday's World Cup qualifier against Azerbaijan.

Defenders Dara O'Shea and Nathan Collins have both been ruled out of the next two games through injury, the former having to be helped off the pitch after a collision half an hour into Ireland's game against Portugal in Faro on Wednesday night.

Robinson, in fine form for West Brom, had been ruled out of the Portugal game after testing positive for Covid-19, while Preston's Browne was identified as a close contact of another Covid case.

Both have completed their 10-day self-isolation period in the UK and have been called up to the squad.

It is Scales' first call-up to the senior squad. The 23-year-old defender from Wicklow last week signed for Celtic from Shamrock Rovers, signing a four-year deal.

Meanwhile, RTÉ will have live coverage of the Republic of Ireland U21s European championship opener against Bosnia & Herzegovina this afternoon.

The game, which is in Zenica at 3.30pm, will be screened live on RTÉ News Now and the RTÉ Player. Live commentary with Adrian Eames and Alan Cawley.

The Republic of Ireland and Bosnia & Herzegovina are joined in Group F by Group F by Luxembourg, Italy, Sweden and Montenegro.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), James Talbot (Bohemians)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Liam Scales (Celtic)

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End)

Attackers: Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), James Collins (Cardiff City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion)