Derry City secured their first home success in 10 games, seeing off a battling Waterford side, thanks to goals from Evan McLaughlin and Joe Thomson.

Ruaidhri Higgins' men could have won by a bigger margin as they played some quick flowing football, which pleased the home support.

The Brandywell men certainly started the game on the front foot and they would have gone close on 27 minutes but for Kyle Ferguson’s superb block, which denied McLaughlin a goal on his debut, as the youngster’s left footed strike looked goal-bound.

McLaughlin went close again just after the half-hour mark, this time his low drive was gathered at the second attempt by Waterford goalkeeper Brian Murphy.

From Murphy’s resulting punt downfield Prince Mutswunguma nearly got onto the end of it, but his attempted shot was saved by Nathan Gartside.

The deadlock was broken on 42 minutes as teenager McLaughlin did get on the score-sheet and diverted the ball home from 10 yards, after Daniel Lafferty had created the opening following another neat passing move by the home side.

City doubled their advantage on 52 minutes as Joe Thomson found some space inside the Waterford penalty box, before firing high past a stranded Murphy.

Just after the hour mark, Junior was replaced by fellow new signing Jamie McGonigle and the former Crusaders man went close on 70 minutes, but his left-footed lob sailed just wide.

Gartside was called into action soon after when he did well to keep out Cian Kavanagh’s effort.

The woodwork came to Derry’s rescue minutes later as Jack Stafford’s low drive from just inside the box, which had Gartside beaten, came back off the post.

Derry were lucky not to be reduced to ten men on 85 minutes after Eoin Toal had pulled down Cian Kavanagh when the substitute was through on goal, but referee Paul McLaughlin only cautioned the City captain.

Right at the death, City substitute Jack Malone went close but his right footed strike was kept out by a diving Murphy.

Derry City: Nathan Gartside, Eoin Toal, Cameron McJannet, Ciaran Coll; Ronan Boyce, Ciaron Harkin, Joe Thomson (Jack Malone 84), Evan McLaughlin (Darren Cole 72), Daniel Lafferty; Junior Ogedi-Uzokwe (Jamie McGonigle 63), James Akintunde (Will Fitzgerald 72).

Waterford: Brian Murphy, Darragh Power (Josh Collins 82), Cameron Evans, Kyle Ferguson, Shane Griffin, John Martin, Niall O’Keefe, Max Hutchinson (Cian Kavanagh 67), Jack Stafford, Isaac Tshipamba (Oluwatunmise Sobowale HT), Prince Mustswunguma.

Referee: Paul McLaughlin (Donegal).