Shane Duffy has been left out of the Ireland side for tonight's World Cup qualifier against Serbia. 

The on-loan Celtic defender has been omitted by manager Stephen Kenny who has named both Seamus Coleman and Matt Doherty in the starting XI.

The two right-sided defenders have been accommodated in a formation that will most likely see Ireland start with three central defenders in front of rookie goalkeeper, Mark Travers, who makes his first competitive start for Ireland. 

Ireland captain Coleman looks set to line up in a three alongside Ciaran Clark and Dara O’Shea, while Doherty is likely to play as a right wing-back. 

Enda Stevens will play on the left side in a wing-back-style role, while Josh Cullen, Jayson Molumby and Alan Browne start in midfield. 

Aaron Connolly and Callum Robinson will lead the line for the opening game of the campaign. 

The manager has left several experienced players out of the side as well as Duffy, with Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady and James McClean all named among the substitutes.

Ajax's Dusan Tadic captains Serbia in new boss Dragan Stojkovic’s first game in charge, but there was only a seat on the bench for Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Earlier, it was confirmed that Troy Parrott would not feature in Ireland's opening World Cup qualifier against Serbia in Belgrade this evening, as the Tottenham teenager has been left out of the matchday squad.

Stephen Kenny had said that the Irish striker was not in contention to start the away fixture when he was named in the squad, and now he must look to Luxembourg on Saturday for some international action.

The on-loan 19-year-old, currently at Ipswich, previously made his senior international debut during the Mick McCarthy era in a friendly game against New Zealand.

Kenny submitted his 23-man matchday squad earlier today, with Portsmouth's Ronan Curtis, Ryan Manning of Swansea, and late call-up Conor Coventry from West Ham the others to miss out.

Darragh Lenihan of Blackburn was another late call-up to the squad following Kevin Long's withdrawal, and the Meath man has been named among the defenders.

Serbia: Marko Dmitrović; Strahinja Pavlović, Filip Mladenović, Nikola Milenković, Dušan Tadić (capt), Stefan Mitrović, Uroš Račić, Milan Gajić, Saša Lukić, Dušan Vlahović, Filip Djuričić.

Republic of Ireland: Mark Travers; Seamus Coleman, Matt Doherty, Enda Stevens, Ciaran Clark, Dara O'Shea; Alan Browne, Jayson Molumby, Josh Cullen; Callum Robinson, Aaron Connolly. 

Referee: Davide Massa (ITA)

Follow Serbia v Republic of Ireland via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/sport and RTÉ News app, watch live on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player or listen to commentary on RTÉ 2fm's Game On.