Stephen Kenny's injury woes as Republic of Ireland manager continue as four players, including goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher, have been forced to withdraw from the squad to take on Serbia and Luxembourg in this week's 2023 World Cup qualifiers.

Liverpool goalkeeper Kelleher, Burnley defender Kevin Long, Swansea City midfielder Conor Hourihane and Bristol City winger Callum O'Dowda have all been ruled out.

The withdrawal of Kelleher comes as a particularly significant blow with West Ham goalkeeper Darren Randolph already sidelined through injury.

Kelleher has been recovering from a stomach injury but will not be ready in time for the games with Serbia and Luxembourg. Bournemouth's Mark Travers is likely to slot in between the sticks with Ireland U21 goalkeeper Gavin Bazunu on the bench.

O'Dowda and Hourihane both featured for their clubs in the Championship on Saturday but both were forced off injured and are out of the squad.

Blackburn defender Darragh Lenihan has been called up to replace Long, while West Ham midfielder Conor Coventry comes in for Conor Hourihane. This will be Coventry's first senior international call-up, having represented Ireland at U21 level.

The Ireland squad reported for duty in Manchester, England today where they are scheduled to train tomorrow morning before flying to Belgrade ahead of Wednesday's qualifier.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Gavin Bazunu (Rochdale, on loan from Manchester City), Kieran O'Hara (Burton Albion).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Cyrus Christie (Nottingham Forest), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (Preston North End, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Jason Knight (Derby County), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Conor Coventry (West Ham United).Wingers: Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth).

Strikers: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Shane Long (AFC Bournemouth, on loan from Southampton), James Collins (Luton Town), Troy Parrott (Ipswich Town, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur).