Drogheda United and Waterford will kick off the new SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season as the time slots for games are released.

Top flight fixtures will be organised into three separate time slots for the 2021 campaign: 5.45pm on Friday evening, 7.45pm on Friday night or 6pm on Saturday evening. 

Drogheda and Waterford will open the season on Friday, 19 March at 5.45pm, with reigning champions Shamrock Rovers hosting St Patrick's Athletic at 7.45pm, which will be live on RTÉ2.

The six remaining Premier Division clubs will get their season's underway the following day at 6pm.

The exception to the new time slots will come in rounds eight and nine of the season. For the May Bank Holiday weekend, all five fixtures in round eight will take place on Friday, 30 April with four matches taking place at 7.45pm and the final game at 8pm. 

Three days later, the round nine fixtures will all take place on the Monday, with two games fixed for 2pm, two at 5.45pm and a further game at 7.45pm.

The season, which will see each team play 36 games, will end on Friday, 19 November.