League of Ireland football will return to Limerick for the 2021 season as Treaty United received a licence to compete in a 10-team SSE Airtricity League First Division.

The club will take their place in the second tier, with Shamrock Rovers' reserve side - who played in the division last season following the withdrawal of Limerick FC - dropping out.

Treaty United fielded a side in the Women's National League last season. They will be managed by former Limerick boss Tommy Barrett. 

"Licences for the 2021 season were awarded by the Independent Licensing Committee on Friday," the FAI said in a statement.

"On receipt earlier today of the NLEC recommendation that the First Division comprise of 10 teams, the FAI Board then took its decision this afternoon."

The First Division season will get underway on 26 March, one week after the start of the new Premier Division campaign.

Premier Division

Bohemian FC, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick's Athletic, Waterford FC.

First Division

Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, Treaty United, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.

Listen to the RTÉ Soccer podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundCloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences