Peamount United 3-1 Shelbourne

Peamount United were crowned Women's National League champions for the second successive season thanks to a pulsating 3-1 win over Shelbourne.

A second-half double from Aine O’Gorman, either side of Karen Duggan’s header, saw the Peas to their fourth national league title.

Emily Whelan had given Shels the lead early in the second half, and with it one hand on trophy, but the champions showed their character and experience to prevail.

It was a winner-takes-all clash in west Dublin as three points for either side would seal the title, while a draw would leave Peamount in the driving seat as they travel to Wexford on the final day.

Shels, despite leading the table, were more in need of the three points and they set about their task with intent.

Whelan was denied by a fine Niamh Reid-Burke stop within six minutes as she was released one-on-one with the Ireland international.

Reid-Burke saved from Izzy Atkinson’s free kick before Whelan, again, went through on goal and was denied by another strong stop from the keeper.

If the first half was cagey, the second was blown wide open inside a minute as Whelan found the back of the net.

Her shot from inside the box looked to be covered by Reid-Burke but the ball squirmed out of the keeper’s hands and looped into the net.

Shels weren’t content with just one and continued to create, Ciara Grant finding the side netting and Rebecca Cooke denied by O’Gorman’s goalsaving challenge.

Duggan and O’Gorman have been playing together for a long time, however, and it was their experience that got them back into the game.

It was a foul on Duggan that led to the leveller, as O’Gorman bent a perfect free kick into the corner. O’Gorman returned the favour with the cross for Duggan to head them in front.

And top scorer O’Gorman had the last laugh, stabbing home her 14th goal of the season from close range to secure the points and the league crown.

Peamount United: Niamh Reid-Burke; Lauryn O'Callaghan, Claire Walsh, Deirbhaile Beirne; Karen Duggan, Lucy McCartan (Sadbh Doyle 65), Eleanor Ryan Doyle; Áine O'Gorman, Alannah McEvoy (Becky Watkins 87), Stephanie Roche (Megan Smyth-Lynch 65).

Shelbourne: Rachel Kelly; Jess Gleeson (Alex Kavanagh 78), Pearl Slattery, Jamie Finn; Jess Gargan, Rachel Graham (Kate Mooney 85), Ciara Grant, Izzy Atkinson; Jessica Ziu, Rebecca Cooke, Emily Whelan.