Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has included Saoirse Noonan in a 31-player squad for their final 2022 UEFA Women's European Championships qualifying game in Group I at home to Germany on Tuesday, 1 December, in Tallaght Stadium.

With seven games already played, Ireland are still in the hunt for a play-off spot.

Cork City's Noonan earns a first senior call-up following her impressive recent form that saw her score twice in Sunday's FAI Women's Senior Cup semi-final victory over Treaty United.

Just 24 hours earlier, she scored 1-02 in Cork's Ladies football senior championship win over Kerry. 

"Saoirse has been on my radar for a long time; it's not that she had a good weekend and was then selected," Pauw insisted when speaking to reporters this afternoon. 

"She was already on the fringes and we have been discussing and following her for a while. I didn't know how she performed at the weekend because she was already on the list due to other performances.

"Of course, it's great when you put her on the list and then you see how well she performs. Playing two sports and just being so natural and so clinical about it is amazing."

Noonan's inclusion means that all three of this season's Women's National League Player of the Month recipients have been recognised as Wexford Youths' Ellen Molloy and Shelbourne's Jessica Ziu are also named.

The players will report into camp on Sunday 22 November when the squad will be cut back ahead of the first training session at the FAI National Training Centre.

Germany have already been confirmed as Group I winners, which means that the runner-up spot and a play-off is now between second-placed Ireland (13 points) and third-placed Ukraine (12 points).

Ireland will host Germany on 1 December while Ukraine play Montenegro. Pauw's team currently hold a better goal difference so they need to equal or better Ukraine's result in order to seal second spot. 

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Eabha O'Mahony (Cork City), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion - on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge), Saoirse Noonan (Cork City)