Luton Town striker James Collins has been called into the Ireland squad for the upcoming international games against England, Wales and Bulgaria.

The centre-forward has scored five times for his club side this season and bagged the only goal of the game on Wednesday night in Luton's 1-0 victory over Rotterham.

Collins was regularly called up during Mick McCarthy's tenure, however, it is the first time that Stephen Kenny has brought the striker into the squad.

Since Kenny took over as Ireland manager, his side have only managed to score one goal in five games, and the manager has also had to fill a gap left by David McGoldrick, who announced his retirement from international football during the week.

Kenny named a 26-man squad for the upcoming matches, which begin with a friendly clash against England at Wembley Stadium on Thursday, 12 November, followed by a UEFA Nations League game in Wales the following Sunday.

The third game of the international window sees Ireland welcome Bulgaria to the Aviva Stadium on Wednesday, 18 November. 

Captain Seamus Coleman returns to the squad following injury, while Portsmouth striker Ronan Curtis and Wycombe Wanderers winger Daryl Horgan keep their places in the squad after impressing in the UEFA Nations League match against Finland in October. 

Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne will link up with the squad ahead of the UEFA Nations League match against Wales. 

The squad will meet up on Sunday, 8 November in London ahead of the international friendly against England on Thursday. 

Republic of Ireland Squad 

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth). 

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Luton Town), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).