The Women's National League Committee has taken the decision to expand the 2020 Women's National League (WNL) to nine teams.

Bohemians have been accepted to participate in the WNL, while Treaty United's application to enter the WNL has also been accepted.

Treaty United are the new entity promoting football in Limerick. 

Both sides join Athlone Town AFC in joining the WNL for the first time this year.

Bohemian FC President Chris Brien said: "Women's football is one of the fastest-growing sports in the world and it will be no different in Ireland.

"We aspire to having thriving WNL with big crowds attending games in the not-too-distant future and Bohemians want to play our part in that.

"We wish to thank the FAI and the Women’s National League Committee in particular for accepting our application to join the WNL."

The fixture list for the 2020 season will be released on Thursday.

2020 Women's National League participants: Athlone Town, Bohemians, Cork City, DLR Waves, Galway WFC, Peamount United, Shelbourne, Treaty United, Wexford Youths