James Collins makes his competitive Ireland debut as Mick McCarthy named the big Luton centre-forward to start today's Euro 2020 qualifier in Tbilisi.

Ireland take on Georgia in this vital clash at the Dinamo Stadium and the manager did not surprise with his team selection opting not to start teenager Aaron Connolly. The Brighton forward will start on the bench having been named amongst the substitutes.

Collins will lead the line for Ireland with James McClean and Callum Robinson on either flank.

Ireland's new-look defence sees Matt Doherty start at left-back, while John Egan joins the fit-again Shane Duffy in the middle of the back four.

Seamus Coleman captain's the side from right back a day after his 31st birthday, while Darren Randolph starts in goal.

McCarthy was able to name his regular trio in the middle of the park as Glenn Whelan anchors the side alongside Conor Hourihane and Jeff Hendrick.