Harvey Neville, son of former Manchester United player Phil Neville, is among the new faces named in the Republic of Ireland squad to play Denmark in a friendly at The Showgrounds on Friday.

After last season's excellent campaign, which concluded with a semi-final appearance in the UEFA Under-19 European Championships, Tom Mohan’s side will use a Danish double-header in preparation for the upcoming qualifying round games against Switzerland, Austria and Gibraltar.

Borussia Monchengladbach’s Conor Noß is called into an Ireland squad for the first time.

The German-born attacker has been part of recent first-team squads with the Bundesliga side in domestic and European games.

Speaking to FAI TV about Noß, Mohan said he is looking forward to seeing the 18-year-old play in Sligo.

"Conor plays at number 10. He was in our last training camp. He impressed a lot and is technically a very good player. He’s doing very well in Germany and we’re excited by him."

Neville qualifies for Ireland through his mother Julie's side and was previously with Valencia before signing for United last summer. 

Ireland manager Mohan is hoping the crowds in the north-west come out and support the team as preparations to qualify for next year’s Finals in Northern Ireland move up another level.

"There’ll be an honest approach from the players. It’s an opportunity for the players to impress. We’re looking forward to a good crowd in Sligo for the games."

The opening match takes place in The Showgrounds on Friday, 11 October at 7:30pm, followed by the second game on Monday, 14 October at 1pm.

Listen to the RTÉ Soccer podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundCloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Republic of Ireland Under-19 squad:

Goalkeepers: Sean Bohan (Bohemians), Jimmy Corcoran (Preston North End), Bobby Jones (Wigan Athletic)

Defenders: Ronan Boyce (Derry City), Ben Greenwood (AFC Bournemouth), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Mark McGuinness (Arsenal), Mazeed Ogungbo (Arsenal), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Lewis Richards (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Timi Sobowale (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jamie Bowden (Tottenham Hotspur), Barry Coffey (Celtic), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Donal Higgins (Galway United), Conor Grant (Sheffield Wednesday), Harvey Neville (Manchester United), Armstrong Oko-Flex (Celtic), Tyreik Wright (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Tom Cannon (Everton), Ryan Cassidy (Watford), Festy Ebosele (Derby County), Alex Gilbert (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Noß (Borussia Monchengladbach), George Nunn (Chelsea), Thomas Oluwa (Shamrock Rovers), Ross Tierney (Bohemians)