Mick McCarthy has confirmed that John Egan will captain Ireland in tonight's international friendly clash with Bulgaria.

The Republic of Ireland boss has made ten changes to the side that drew 1-1 with Switzerland on Thursday, with Josh Cullen and goalkeeper Mark Travers both making their international debuts.

Sheffield United's Egan has been an ever-present in the Premier League this season but has had to settle for a place on the bench for Ireland as Shane Duffy and Richard Keogh are McCarthy preferred partnership in the middle of defence.

Egan will start in the middle of the back four, while Conor Hourihane has also been named to start at left back this evening.

The Aston Villa midfielder has been asked to play in that role as the manager needs a replacement for Enda Stevens for next month's Euro 2020 qualifier in Tbilisi as Ireland take on Georgia.

Cyrus Christie will start at right back in the absence of captain Seamus Coleman, while Burnley's Kevin Long will partner Egan in the middle of defence.

Alan Browne and Alan Judge look set to join Cullen in a midfield three, while Callum O'Dowda and Ronan Curtis should line up either side of striker Scott Hogan.

McCarthy also confirmed that Luton Town striker James Collins will feature at Lansdowne Road, and is now expected to make an appearance in the second half. Shamrock Rovers attacking midfielder Jack Byrne is also expected to feature at some stage. 

Bulgaria have also named a new-look side following their 4-0 defeat to England at the weekend.

Centre-half Anton Nedyalkov and midfielder Kristiyan Malinov are the only two players to remain in the starting XI to face Ireland.

Ireland: Mark Travers; Cyrus Christie, John Egan, Kevin Long, Conor Hourihane; Alan Browne, Josh Cullen; Alan Judge, Callum O'Dowda, Ronan Curtis; Scott Hogan

Bulgaria: 1 Hristo Ivanov; 20 Ivan Goranov, 14 Anton Nedyalkov, 3 Kristian Dimitrov, 4 Georgi Pashov; 6 Simeon Slavchev, 19 Daniel Mladenov, 17 Georgi Milanov, 16 Kristiyan Malinov, 22 Nikolay Dimitrov; 12 Bozhidar Kraev

Referee: Tobias Welz (GER)