Derry City bounced back from their North West derby defeat with a deserved victory over Waterford.

A first half brace from striker David Parkhouse ensured the Brandywell men moved to three points behind third placed Bohemians, with nine games remaining.

Derry should have taken an early lead as Jamie McDonagh's right wing centre flew across the Waterford box and fell to Ciaran Coll, but the left-back took a touch before blazing over.

The home side took the lead on 14 minutes as Gerardo Bruna’s fantastic crossfield pass found Coll and the left back's teasing cross to the back post drew Waterford keeper Matthew Connor off his line and Parkhouse gleefully headed home into the empty net.

Derry doubled their advantage just before the break as Michael McCrudden’s clever pass found Parkhouse, who from some 30 yards made no mistake firing home high past Connor.

Waterford went close to pulling a goal back virtually straight away but Dean Walsh’s snap-shot from the edge of the box was kept out by a diving Derry keeper Peter Cherrie. The Brandywell men went close to adding a third on 64 minutes but Bruna, who was having a good game in midfield, saw his free-kick from the right flash inches wide.

Soon after Declan Devine brought on new signing Grant Gillespie replacing McCrudden.

Parkhouse should have completed his hat-trick on 69 minutes as McDonagh’s right wing cross caught out Rory Feely and fell perfectly to the Strabane man, but his close range side footed effort was saved by Connor.

On 85 minutes, Derry went close to adding a third as Bruna’s right wing corner wasn’t cleared properly but Darren Cole fired inches over when well placed inside the box.

In stoppage time, a Bruna corner from the right found centre-back Ally Gilchrist, but his powerful header flew just over the bar.

Derry City: Peter Cherrie, Darren Cole, Eoin Toal, Ally Gilchrist, Ciaran Coll; Gerardo Bruna, Greg Sloggett, Barry McNamee (Ciaron Harkin 65); Jamie McDonagh, David Parkhouse (Conor Davis 84), Michael McCrudden (Grant Gillespie 67).

Waterford: Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Shane Duggan, Kenny Browne, Karolis Chvedukas (JJ Lunney 77), Tom Holland, Zachary Elbouzedi (Cory Galvin 59), Dean Walsh, Georgie Poynton (Michael O’Connor 59), Robert Slevin, John Kavanagh.

Referee: Mr Derek Tomney (Dublin).

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Listen to the RTÉ Soccer Podcast on Apple Podcasts, SoundCloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.