Shane Long has been ruled out of the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers after he suffered a hamstring injury in training with the Republic of Ireland.

It’s another blow to Mick McCarthy after Luca Connell, Alan Browne and Mark Travers were earlier forced out after picking up knocks. 

McCarthy still has four central strikers to plan with, including the returning Callum Robinson, while Ronan Curtis can also feature in an attacking role. 

Long also missed the victories over Gibraltar and Georgia in March with a groin injury, but he finished the domestic season strongly with four goals in his last seven games as the Saints stayed up. 

Ireland are away to Denmark this coming Friday before hosting Gibraltar at the Aviva Stadium this day week.

The manager is due to speak to the media at a sponsor's event this afternoon.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), James Talbot (Bohemians), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Egan (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Charlton Athletic*), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

Forwards: David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Callum Robinson (Preston North End)