Pep Guardiola has been named the League Managers' Association manager of the year after guiding Manchester City to a successful Premier League title defence.

City beat Brighton on Sunday to secure the championship ahead of rivals Liverpool by just one point after what had been one of the most closely-fought contests of recent seasons.

Having also won the Carabao Cup earlier in the campaign, Guardiola's side could complete a clean sweep of all three domestic honours when they face Watford in the FA Cup final at Wembley on Saturday.

Guardiola collected his accolade at the LMA Awards dinner in London on Tuesday night, topping the vote ahead of Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp, Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino and Nuno Espirito Santo of Wolves. 

Speaking at the awards dinner, Guardiola said: "I want to share this, of course, with my players, because they are the artists of everything, and to my staff because we fought a lot.

"Also, for all the managers in the Premier League, especially Jurgen Klopp - he was an incredible contender to face until the end.

"It was a pleasure to play against all of them." 

Sheffield United boss Chris Wilder received the LMA Championship award after guiding the Blades back into the top flight as runners-up behind Norwich.

The LMA League One manager Of The year award went to Luton's Mick Harford, who stepped down from his caretaker role at the end of the season with Graeme Jones now set to take charge.

Danny Cowley collected the League Two award after Lincoln claimed the title with 85 points.

Outgoing Premier League executive chairman Richard Scudamore was given the LMA's special recognition award, having recently stood down following some 19 years in the role.

John Still was presented with the LMA's special achievement award following his long career which included spells at the likes of Dagenham & Redbridge, Peterborough, Barnet and Luton.

Wilder was also named the overall LMA manager of the year, receiving the award from Sir Alex Ferguson.