Matt Doherty is included alongside Seamus Coleman in Republic of Ireland's Euro 2020 opener in Gibraltar.

With both Seamus Coleman and Enda Stevens also named in the starting line-up, it is expected that the in-form Wolves wing back will start as a wide midfielder.

Jeff Hendrick and Conor Hourihane have been given the nod in the centre of midfield with Glenn Whelan and Robbie Brady placed on the bench at the outset. James McClean complete the midfield. 

Elsewhere, Seanie Maguire makes his first competitive start up front where he partners David McGoldrick. At the back, 2017 and 2018 Player of the Year Shane Duffy is paired alongside Richard Keogh. 

Ireland XI: Darren Randolph, Seamus Coleman (C), Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh, Enda Stevens, Matt Doherty, Jeff Hendrick, Conor Hourihane, James McClean, David McGoldrick, Sean Maguire.

Subs: Westwood, Travers, Whelan, Brady, Byrne, O'Brien, Egan, Collins, Judge, Cullen, Long, Arter