Glenn Whelan and James Collins have been included in Mick McCarthy's finalised Republic of Ireland squad for their upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia.

McCarthy has whittled down the selection to a 23-man squad as they look to begin their preparations for their opening Group D games.

Veteran midfielder Whelan was recalled to the Ireland squad by McCarthy, five months after it was presumed that the 35-year old had made his final international appearance. McCarthy recently revealed that Aston Villa player hadn't officially retired which paved the way for his return.

Asked about what team he'll pick for the game against the minnows, McCarthy said, "am I as green as I am cabbage-looking? We want to beat Gibraltar as that's our first game. I don't want any backlash from that."

"We'll go there with the strongest team I have and try win that game."

The Boys in Green's lack of a scoring threat has been a talking point in the run up to the start of the new campaign. It's likely to be June, at the earliest, before we see Leeds striker Patrick Bamford.

"I won’t be speaking to Patrick Bamford now, he wants to concentrate on his club career for the moment. He’s back in the team, he’s scoring goals, Leeds are flying and he doesn’t want anything to distract him so we just left it.

"We just parked it and I’ll speak to him in the summer."

Meanwhile, Luton Town player Collins has also been included, while Newport's Padraig Amond has not survived the cut from the provisional 38-man squad.

Cyrus Christie, Aiden McGeady, James McCarthy and David Meyler have also been omitted.

Ireland will face Gibraltar away on March 23 and Georgia at home three days later. 

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town)

*Indicates player is on loan