UCD are off the mark in the Premier Division but remain bottom of the table after holding St Patrick’s Athletic to a 1-1 draw at the UCD Bowl on Friday night.

Conor Davis scored the equaliser for Collie O’Neill’s side after a brilliant solo run from Ireland under-21 defender Josh Collins had put it on a plate for the striker.

Mikey Drennan had fired the Saints into the lead late in the first half but Harry Kenny’s side failed to capitalise and will consider it three more points dropped following a strong start to the season.


It was the Students who started the brighter in front of a sizable traveling support and they controlled the early stages without creating too much of note.

Davis had a chance to open the scoring midway through the half when he connected with Dan Tobin’s centre, but Brendan Clarke did brilliantly to get down and save his low volley.

Drennan showed him how it was done shortly afterwards as he connected with Rhys McCabe’s left-wing cross and hammered a first-time volley into the top corner.

Brandon Miele had already put the ball in the net shortly before, only to be called back for offside, but the Saints didn’t have to wait long for the real thing.

The Athletic had the better of the period either side of half time and McCabe spurned a chance to make it 2-0 just after the break when a heavy touch denied him a clear run on goal.

And they were punished just before the hour when centre half Scales, who was a target for Dundalk last month, cantered forward and dodged three challenges before providing Davis with an simple finish.

Pats should have regained the lead six minutes later as Drennan again played McCabe through, but the striker was denied by the feet of Conor Kearns as he tried to round the keeper.

Drennan was inches from providing the winner as Pats pushed late on, but he couldn’t connect with Chris Forrester’s cross and the points were shared.

UCD: Conor Kearns; Daniel Tobin, Liam Scales, Josh Collins, Mark Dignam; Paul Doyle (Richie O’Farrell), Gary O’Neill, Timmy Molloy; Neil Farrugia, Jason McClelland, Conor Davis (Yoyo Mahdy 81).

St Patrick’s Athletic: Brendan Clarke; Simon Madden, Kevin Toner, Lee Desmond, Ian Bermingham; Jamie Lennon, Conor Clifford, Rhys McCabe (Gary Shaw 81); Brandon Miele (James Doona 69), Chris Forrester, Mikey Drennan.

Referee: Rob Harvey (Dublin).