St Patrick’s Athletic’s solid start to the new season continued in Sligo as ex-Rovers striker Mikey Drennan sealed a late win for the Dublin side at the Showgrounds.

Following a low key first half, it was Pat’s who created more in difficult conditions in the second period.

Liam Buckley’s men looked like they would hold out for a valuable point, but Drennan did just enough to tuck his header past Ed McGinty in the 92nd minute.


Chances arrived at a premium during a first half which struggled to ignite.

Daryl Fordyce’s effort from range was easily dealt with by Pat’s net minder Brendan Clarke early on, while both Chris Forrester and ex-Sligo man Rhys McCabe blasted over from similar distances at the opposite end.

The Inchicore side did have a penalty appeal waved away late in the opening half.

Dave Webster took a tumble under close scrutiny from Sligo’s Jamaican striker Romeo Parkes at the edge of the area, but referee Damien McGraith waved away Webster’s claims.

Harry Kenny’s charges began the second half the brighter and Forrester had McGinty scrambling to grab the winger’s swinging attempt on 55.

While an ever-strengthening breeze was responsible as McCabe’s corner kick came back off the Sligo crossbar 90 seconds later.

Linked with a move across the Irish Sea in the summer, it was John Mahon who had to sweep away Mikey Drennan’s shot from 12 yards on 68.

The wind played its part once more as McGinty could only fist McCabe’s next corner as far as his own penalty spot.

While a combination of both Mahon and McGinty managed to clear substitute Brandon Miele’s cross, which almost sneaked in at the front post, to safety.

Pat’s were eventually have the last laugh here as Drennan netted his second goal in as many games at the death.

Sligo Rovers: Ed McGinty; Johnny Dunleavy (Lewis Banks 22), Dante Leverock, John Mahon, Regan Donelon; Jack Keaney, Kyle Callan-McFadden; Kris Twardek, Daryl Fordyce, Romeo Parkes; Ronan Coughlan.

St Patrick’s Athletic: Brendan Clarke; Lee Desmond, Kevin Toner, Dave Webster; Simon Madden, Ian Bermingham; Conor Clifford, Rhys McCabe; Chris Forrester (Brandon Miele 77), Jamie Lennon; Mikey Drennan.

Referee: Damien McGraith.