skip to main content

Klopp charged for comments made after West Ham draw

Jurgen Klopp intimated after the 1-1 draw on Monday that Friend's performance had been affected by an assistant referee's mistake for Sadio Mane's goal
Jurgen Klopp intimated after the 1-1 draw on Monday that Friend's performance had been affected by an assistant referee's mistake for Sadio Mane's goal

Jurgen Klopp has been charged by the FA for the comments he made about referee Kevin Friend after Liverpool's clash at West Ham last week.

Liverpool boss Klopp intimated after the 1-1 draw that Friend's performance had been affected by an assistant referee's mistake for Sadio Mane's goal.

Mane's opener was allowed to stand despite Reds team-mate James Milner being clearly offside in the build-up.

An FA statement read: "Jurgen Klopp has today been charged with a breach of FA Rule E3.

"It is alleged that comments he made in a post-match interview following Liverpool's league game against West Ham United on 4 February 2019 breached Rule E3(1) as they questioned the integrity of the match referee and/or implied bias.

"He has until 6pm on 18 February 2019 to respond to the charge."

Read Next