The FAI have introduced an eight-year term limit for members of its board of management.

The move was taken at an Extraordinary General Meeting and brings the body into compliance with the Governance Code endorsed by the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport.

Under the new rules, honorary secretary Michael Cody and honorary treasurer Eddie Murray are not eligible for re-election, while four further members of the board will see their terms finished within the next four years.

As part of the rule changes, and in order to avoid an immediate loss of experience and expertise from the board, any board member who is the chairperson of a standing committee or the FAI’s National League Executive Committee and has served for more than 10 years on the Board, may be re-elected for up to four years. 

FAI CEO John Delaney said: "The introduction of new term limits is a step forward for Irish football. The EGM showed that the board and members fully endorse the need for change.

"While the maximum term limit in the Governance Code is nine-year term limits, it was felt that eight years accurately reflected the appropriate amount of time for our board members to serve and to ensure that we did not lose their expertise and experience immediately but have a thought out succession planning process."

The FAI has also introduced new rules to protect match officials

The EGM also introduced a new rule regarding the misconduct of players and officials towards match officials.

In order to safeguard match officials from misconduct, which can include foul, insulting or abusive language, obstruction, assault, and disparaging remarks made on personal social media platforms, new sanctions will be imposed.

The FAI has also introduced increased minimum sanctions for serious assaults.