The structure of the new SSE Airtricity U13 National League has been laid out, with the 20 League of Ireland clubs being joined by four other entities in a 24-team competition. 

There will be six teams in the four leagues with the top two teams from each league and the two best-placed third-placed teams set to qualify for the finals stage. 

All SSE Airtricity League clubs will operate an Under 13 side and they will be joined by four other non-SSE Airtricity League entities.

Following an extensive application process, Kildare & District Underage League, Kerry League, Mayo League and Monaghan/Cavan FP have been awarded places in the league. 

The U13 National League is the latest of the underage national leagues to be introduced following in the wake of the U19, U17 and U15 leagues instituted in recent seasons. 

The fixtures for the national underage leagues will be released on Wednesday, January 30 ahead of the 2019 season. 

"I would like to congratulate Kildare & District Underage League, Kerry Schoolboys League, Mayo League and Monaghan/Cavan FP on securing a place in the new SSE Airtricity National Under 13 League," said FAI Competitions Director Fran Gavin. 

"The spread of teams across the country is important in making sure all players from across the country have the opportunity to play in our national leagues. 

"The continued growth of our national underage structures is exciting for the future of Irish football and we're looking forward to the start of the season in March."