Matt Doherty has been named to start his first competitive match for Ireland for tonight’s Nations League encounter with Denmark at the Aviva Stadium, kick-off 7.45pm.

Martin O’Neill’s side are looking to redress the terrible performance and result against the same opponents, at the same venue, last November; the 5-1 defeat costing Ireland a place at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

And the manager has named an attacking formation to take on the Danes, including Wolves wing-back Doherty in the starting XI for the first time.

The manager hinted at setting his team out with a three-man defence in the build-up to this game and appears true to his word, as regular centre-half Shane Duffy, is named alongside Kevin Long and Richard Keogh, who will captain the team. 

Doherty will probably start in the left wing-back position, while Cyrus Christie will play the same role on the opposite flank.

Harry Arter has returned from his short-lived, self-imposed exile and the Cardiff City man starts alongside Callum O’Dowda, James McClean and Jeff Hendrick in midfield.

Shane Long leads the line, having recovered from an ankle injury, which kept him out of training earlier in the week. Hedrick will probably play in the number 10 role, linking up with Long.

As expected, Darren Randolph starts in goal for O’Neill’s side.

Torrential rain fell in Dublin all day and while the pitch looks in fine condition from the lofty viewpoint of the media tribune, the opening minutes will show if the inclement weather has made conditions underfoot difficult.

Denmark line out without the influential Christian Eriksen for the first time since manager Age Hareide took over the Scandanavian side.

In the only change to the side which beat Wales 2-0, Ajax's Kasper Dolberg replaces the injured Eriksen, who scored a hat-trick on his side's last visit to the Aviva Stadium in November last year.

Ireland: Darren Randolph, Matt Doherty, Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh (capt), Shane Duffy, Kevin Long; Harry Arter, Callum O'Dowda, James McClean, Jeff Hendrick; Shane Long

Denmark: Kasper Schmeichel; Henrik Dalsgaard, Simon Kjaer, Mathias Jorgensen, Jens Stryger Larsen; Lasse Schone, Thomas Delaney; Yussuf Poulsen, Martin Braithwaite, Pione Sisto; Kasper Dolberg.

Follow Republic of Ireland v Denmark via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/sport and the News Now App, or listen to national radio commentary on Radio 1's Saturday Sport.