Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill has finalised his squad for the UEFA Nations League double header against Denmark and Wales at Aviva Stadium.

Last week O’Neill named a 32-man squad for the upcoming games against the Danes (13 October) and the visit of Ryan Giggs’ Wales three days later, with Greg Cunningham, Daryl Horgan, Richie Towell, Graham Burke, Alan Judge and Ronan Curtis dropping out of the provisional list.

Defender Stephen Ward went to see a specialist on Monday over a persistent knee injury and he has been ruled out of the games.

The Ireland squad took part in an open training session for supporters at Aviva Stadium on Tuesday with striker Shane Long sitting out due to resting an ankle knock.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers)

Midfielders: Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Callum Robinson, Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa)