Sligo Rovers have taken up an invitation to participate in the IRN-BRU Cup for a second successive season, replacing Bray Wanderers.

Bray were removed from the competition as a punishment from the FAI, after they failed to pay their players on time.

Sligo joins fellow SSE Airtricity Premier Division side Bohemians; Crusaders and Coleraine from Northern Ireland’s Danske Bank Premiership; The New Saints and Connah’s Quay Nomads from the JD Welsh Premier League; Sutton United and Boreham Wood from the English Vanarama National League.

The Irish, Welsh and English clubs enter the competition alongside 30 Ladbrokes Scottish Championship, League 1 and League 2 clubs; Under-21 teams from each of the 12 Ladbrokes SPL Premiership clubs, as well as representatives from the Highland and Lowland leagues.

SPFL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster said: "We are delighted to welcome back Sligo Rovers to this year’s IRN-BRU Cup. This is a competition that continues to evolve and innovate, and we believe that makes it exciting for players and supporters alike."

Martin Heraghty, Sligo Rovers chairman, added: "We would like to thank the SPFL for extending this invitation to take part in the IRN-BRU Cup again. We look forward to testing ourselves once more against opposition from different countries, and hope we can make it a prolonged stay this time."