Dundalk duo Andy Boyle and Daryl Horgan have both been named in the final 28-man Republic of Ireland squad for the crucial World Cup 2018 qualifier with Austria on Saturday.

Both players have excelled for their club this season, helping the Lilywhites to the SSE Airtricity Premier Division title as well as an extended run in the Europa League.

Boyle and Horgan had been included in the extended training squad in preparation for the trip to Austria, but it will come a major boost to both players to have made the final squad for such an important encounter.

Everton midfielder James McCarthy, who has been at the centre of a row between Martin O'Neill and Toffees' boss Ronald Koeman over his fitness, has been left out of the squad, as have the injured duo of Stephen Ward and Stephen Quinn.

Cyrus Christie is also absent after today learning that he faces a minimum of three months on the sidelines after suffering an suspected fracture to a bone in his right foot. 

Sunderland defender John O'Shea is named in the squad but will be assessed as he fights his way back from a hamstring injury.

With Shane Long and Dayrl Murphy both absent, Ipswich frontman David McGoldrick makes the cut after some fine recent club form and he'll be hoping to add to his four international caps.

Meanwhile, Harry Arter could be in line to make his first competitive senior international appearance for Ireland as he was named among the midfielders.

The Ireland squad will train at the FAI National Training Centre before departing for Vienna on Thursday, 10 November.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Andy Boyle (Dundalk)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Preston North End), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Robbie Brady, Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen), Daryl Horgan (Dundalk)

Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town)