Republic of Ireland supporters are to receive an outstanding contribution award for their support at Euro 2016.

Following a review of the tournament, the UEFA Executive Committee decided to give an award to the football associations of Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and Wales for the role their supporters played in making the tournament a success.

Each association will be presented with a commemorative plaque at one of their upcoming home European qualifiers played in October.

Newly-elected UEFA president Aleksander Čeferin said: “UEFA EURO 2016 was a celebration of football and this is thanks in large part to the passion and dedication of fans at all stadiums in France.

"UEFA wanted to reward some of the groups of supporters that were particularly enthusiastic and passionate during the tournament so congratulations to the national associations who are receiving this award.”

Fans from the Republic and Northern Ireland were also collectively awarded the Médaille de la Ville de Paris by the capital's mayor Anne Hidalgo in June.

Just over 27,000 turned up for the friendly with Oman last month at the Aviva Stadium. Ireland play Georgia in a World Cup qualifier in October.