Galway United 0-1 Shamrock Rovers

Gary Shaw’s header in first half stoppage time proved to be the only goal of the game as Shamrock Rovers earned an SSE Airtricity League Premier Division win against Galway United at Eamonn Deacy Park.

Shaw met a brilliant Trevor Clarke cross to steer the Hoops to victory against an inconsistent Galway outfit that has now lost four of their last five matches.

That is a disappointing statistic for Galway, who had competed well at the outset prior to Shaw’s goal.

When the action recommenced Galway struggled to seriously test Rovers goalkeeper Barry Murphy as the visitors eked out a victory.

It was tight initially, but Rovers did go close in the 15th minute when Galway survived a significant scare following a Hoops set piece.

Brandon Miele’s delivery caused panic in the area with Rob Cornwall making a headed connection, but Galway custodian Sam Ramsbottom saved.

Galway carved a 19th minute opportunity when Kilian Cantwell ventured forward to supply a right wing cross that was headed wide by Vinny Faherty.

The Tribesmen were improving as the opening period wore on and a Faherty pass manufactured space for Alex Byrne, who rifled over in the 26th minute.

At the opposite end Rovers were awarded a hotly disputed free kick on the half hour mark with Gary McCabe forcing a fine save from Ramsbottom.

Trevor Clarke, who impressed on the left flank, was also denied by Ramsbottom as the visitors’ continued to probe.

As the interval approached the pace and tempo of the game increased with busy Galway youngster Conor Melody shooting over in the 35th minute.

In stoppage time Clarke clipped a gorgeous cross that was met by a neat Gary Shaw header ensuring the Hoops departed at the break armed with the lead.

Galway were fortunate not to fall further behind three minutes after the restart when a Shaw flick released Miele, but Ramsbottom made another good save.

In injury time Stephen Folan smashed a shot off the woodwork, but Rovers held on for a deserved victory.

Galway United: Sam Ramsbottom; Kilian Cantwell, Armin Aganovic, Stephen Folan; Colm Horgan, Alex Byrne, Ryan Connolly, Marc Ludden (Kevin Devaney, 82); Conor Melody; Vinny Faherty (Enda Curran, 82), Padraic Cunningham (Gary Shanahan, 66).

Subs not used: Conor Winn, Paul Sinnott, Stephen Walsh, Jesse Devers.

Shamrock Rovers: Barry Murphy; Sean Heaney, Rob Cornwall, Dave Webster; Simon Madden, Gary McCabe, Stephen McPhail (Patrick Cregg, 69), Brandon Miele (James Doona, 66), Trevor Clarke; Aaron Dobbs (Sean Boyd, 76), Gary Shaw.

Subs not used: Dean Clarke, Shane Hanney, Jamie Aherne, Conor Gilson.

Referee: Robert Hennessy (Clare).