Dundalk will learn their Europa League opponents today with the draw for the group stage of the competition due to take place in Monaco at midday.

Stephen Kenny's men just missed out on a place in the Champions League group stage after a battling performance against Polish champions Legia Warsaw in the play-off round, but can still content themselves with an extended European season.

The Lilywhites are in Pot 4 for the Europa League draw, and can be drawn against the likes of Manchester United, Inter Milan, Roma, Southampton and Villarreal.

Dundalk skipper Stephen O'Donnell, who was suspended for the second leg of his side's clash with Legia Warsaw, insists his side are not just there to make up the numbers and is looking to take points from whoever they're drawn with.

O'Donnell has plenty of European experience, having played for Shamrock Rovers during their Europa Cup run of 2011 and he's hoping Dundalk can improve on what Rovers achieved.

"At Rovers it was all new, so we were buzzing just to be there," he told the Evening Herald. "Yes, we are pleased to be there with Dundalk but we have set ourselves a realistic target of getting points.

"We feel we can get points. It's an exciting time in the season with the run-in in the league, trying to retain the FAI Cup and competing in Europe as well and this is what we were aiming for."

European League Group Stage Draw seedings

Pot 1
Schalke (GER)
Zenit (RUS)
Manchester United (ENG)
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Athletic Club (ESP)
Olympiacos (GRE)
Villarreal (ESP)
Ajax (NED)
Internazionale Milan (ITA)
Fiorentina (ITA)
Anderlecht (BEL)
Viktoria Plzen (CZE)

Pot 2

AZ Alkmaar (NED)
Braga (POR)
Salzburg (AUT)
Roma (ITA)
Fenerbahce (TUR)
Sparta Praha (CZE)
Steaua Bucuresti (ROU)
Genk (BEL)
Standard Liège (BEL)
St-Étienne (FRA)

Pot 3
Gent (BEL)
Young Boys (SUI)
Krasnodar (RUS)
Rapid Wien (AUT)
Slovan Liberec (CZE)
Celta Vigo (ESP)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR)
Feyenoord (NED)
Austria Wien (AUT)
Mainz (GER)
Zürich (SUI)
Southampton (ENG)

Pot 4
Panathinaikos (GRE)
Sassuolo (ITA)
Qarabag (AZE)
Astana (KAZ)
Nice (FRA)
Zorya Luhansk (UKR)
Astra Giurgiu (ROU)
Konyaspor (TUR)
Osmanlispor (TUR)
Qabala (AZE)
Hapoel Beer-Sheva (ISR)
Dundalk (IRL)