The Republic of Ireland women’s team, who are managed by Sue Ronan, have been drawn with Spain, Finland, Portugal and Montenegro in Group 2 of the qualifying stages for Euro 2017.

The group winners and the six best runners-up will join the hosts, the Netherlands, in the final tournament.

The other two runners-up will play off in October 2016 for the remaining berth in the expanded 16-team finals to be held the following summer.

The five teams will meet this afternoon to arrange the group fixtures which will take place between 14 September, 2015 and 20 September, 2016.