Owen Heary's spirited Bohemians claimed a deserved 2-1 SSE Airtricity League Premier Division win over Limerick at Thomond Park.

Limerick took the lead in the ninth minute when Stephen Folan reacted smartly in the area to score following a Rory Gaffney throw-in.

For the second week in a row Dinny Corcoran missed a penalty as his 32nd minute spot-kick was pushed on to the post by Limerick custodian Shane Cusack.

Bohemians equalised on 62 when Steven Beattie released Paddy Kavanagh, who lifted a neat chip over the advancing Shane Cusack and in the last minute Eoin Wearen tucked away substitute Craig Walsh's assist.

Eager to move the ball forward quickly early on, Limerick took advantage of confusion in the Bohemians defence to score in the ninth minute.

Rory Gaffney's long throw-in fell kindly for Folan, who drilled Limerick ahead as the Gypsies' lapse in concentration was punished.

When the visitors' did craft a 14th minute chance Wearen was unable to connect with Steven Beattie's right wing cross.

Limerick continued to probe as a mazy Ian Turner run culminated with a 28th-minute shot from an acute angle, which Dean Delany saved.

At the opposite end there was a drop of drama when referee Tom Connolly awarded a penalty for a Robbie Williams foul on Kevin Devaney.

Corcoran assumed responsibility again, but a combination of Cusack and the woodwork ensured Limerick remained in front.

Then, on the stroke of half-time, Cusack saved a Roberto Lopes header, which enabled Limerick depart at the break armed with a slender lead.

But the Gypsies rattled the Limerick net on 62 when a weak Cusack clearance was controlled by Beattie, who fed Kavanagh, and the winger duly obliged with a splendid finish.

Kavanagh was unfortunate not to bag again in the 81st minute when connecting with Walsh's deep delivery.

Walsh made an impact in the last minute setting up Wearen, who earned Bohs a vital victory in the south west.

Limerick FC: Shane Cusack; Patrick Nzuzi, Samuel Oji, Stephen Folan, Robbie Williams; Prince Agyemang (Tam McManus, 88), Shane Duggan, Jason Hughes; Ian Turner, Rory Gaffney, Ross Mann (James McGrath, 64).

Bohemians: Dean Delany; Derek Pender, Dan Byrne, Anto Murphy, Jack Memery; Kevin Devaney (Craig Walsh, 80), Roberto Lopes, Eoin Wearen, Paddy Kavanagh (Karl Moore, 90); Dinny Corcoran (Jason Byrne, 85), Steven Beattie.

Referee: Tom Connolly (Dublin).