Meabh de Burca is raring to go as the Republic of Ireland women face Russia in a crucial FIFA World Cup qualifier this evening at Tallaght Stadium, kick off 7.30pm.

Just two points separate the teams after four games and the Irish can move into second place in Group 1 if they win this evening.

Manager Sue Ronan will not name her starting team until just before kick-off but defender De Burca believes that no matter what 11 takes to the field, the Irish are capable of beating a team that is currently ranked nine places higher in the FIFA World Rankings.

“All the girls are buzzing for this one and we are looking forward to it. This is really a must-win game. Given we only drew away to Croatia kind of puts us a bit under pressure but I think we are used to that at this stage," said De Burca.

"We know how big a game it is and we are looking to get three points against them.” 

De Burca adds that the Irish squad have been chomping at the bit for the Russia game to come around after narrowly losing 3-2 to European champions and world no.2 Germany in Dublin last month.

“We are not taking Russia lightly, we know hard it is going to be," - Meabh de Burca

“It’s kind of tough in international football when you are not playing week in and week out. It’s not easy to get over the games as quickly as you could in club football," she said. 

"It’s hard to stop thinking about it but I think we are all looking forward to getting over it with the Russia game.

“We are not taking Russia lightly, we know hard it is going to be and I think if we can put in a work-rate performance like we did against the Germans and we can bring that work-rate into this game, then we are looking to get the three points here.”

Ireland squad:  Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Niamh Reid-Burke (Raheny United), Eve Badana (Dexter University). Defenders: Sophie Perry (Millwall), Meabh de Burca (Galway WFC), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Diane Caldwell (Avaldsnes), Megan Campbell (Florida State University), Yvonne Tracy (Unattached), Karen Duggan (Peamount United). Midfielders: Julie Ann Russell (Peamount United), Ciara Grant (Raheny United), Siobhan Killeen (Raheny United), Dora Gorman (Peamount United), Shannon Smyth (Amazon Grimstad), Rachel Graham (Raheny United), Emma Hansberry (Castlebar Celtic). Forwards: Fiona O’Sullivan (SC Frieburg), Denise O’Sullivan (Glasgow City), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Ruesha Littlejohn (Sandviken), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United).