Robbie Keane and Shane Long will form Ireland's strike force in their World Cup qualifying clash with Sweden at Aviva Stadium this Friday.

In the centre of defence, Giovanni Trapattoni has opted to pair experienced duo Richard Dunne and John O'Shea, with Seamus Coleman and Marc Wilson filling the fullback spots. David Forde lines-out between the sticks.

Glenn Whelan and James McCarthy are named in central midfield, with Jonathan Walters and James McClean set to start on the wings.

Kick-off at Aviva Stadium is 1945 on Friday evening.

Trapattoni's side shows four changes from Ireland's last World Cup qualifying encounter, a 3-0 victory over the Faroe Islands last June.

In defence, Sean St Ledger makes way for Richard Dunne, St Ledger missing out on a place in the squad due to a knee injury.

In midfield there are two changes, with Aiden McGeady and Wes Hoolahan making way for McCarthy and McClean. Like St Ledger, McGeady is absent from the 23-man squad due to a knee injury.

Up front, Long starts in place of Simon Cox.

Both Hoolahan and Cox drop to the substitutes' bench.

Ireland XI to face Sweden: D Forde; S Coleman, R Dunne, J O’Shea, M Wilson; J Walters, G Whelan, J McCarthy, J McClean; S Long, R Keane.