Sweden have named a 24-man squad for next month’s FIFA World Cup 2014 qualifying game against the Republic of Ireland at the Aviva Stadium.

Rasmus Elm is injured but Kim Kallstrom and Alexander Kacaniklic return for the crucial qualifier.

Andreas Granqvist is also named but will be suspended for the clash in Dublin. Sweden face Kazakhstan after the meeting with the Giovanni Trapattoni's men. 

Manager Erik Hamren told RTÉ Sport this afternoon that it is vital Sweden win the two matches.

"If we win our games the other results do not matter. It is the same for Ireland, Austria and Germany so of course we want to win them. We can then concentrate on our own results.

"If we don't win, then the other results are really important. It is a really, really exciting finish to this group."

With Elm missing and Kallstrom lacking match practice, the Swedish boss may have to cope with some problems in midfield.

However, he is content with the squad he is taking to Dublin: "As a coach you have to work with the players you have. All coaches think the same.

"You can't put any energy into things you can't do anything about.

"We are going to give a great game against Ireland, I am sure of that, and then we will see which is the strongest. I hope it will be us but I'm also full of respect for Ireland.

"It is going to be a tough, tough game. We saw that here in Sweden and I'm sure it is going to be the same next game too."

Sweden squad: Andreas Isaksson (Kasimpasa), Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Heerenveen), Johan Wiland (Copenhagen), Mikael Antonsson (Bologna), Pierre Bengtsson (Copenhagen), Rasmus Bengtsson (FC Twente), Andreas Granqvist (Krasnodar), Adam Johansson (IFK Göteborg), Mikael Lustig (Celtic), Per Nilsson (Nürnberg), Jonas Olsson (West Brom), Martin Olsson (Norwich City), Jimmy Durmaz (Genclerbirligi), Albin Ekdal (Cagliari), Johan Elmander (Norwich City), Tobias Hysén (IFK Göteborg), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG), Alexander Kacaniklic (Fulham), Sebastian Larsson (Sunderland), Anders Svensson (Elfsborg), Ola Toivonen (PSV Eindhoven), Pontus Wernbloom (CSKA Moscow), Erkan Zengin (Eskisehirspor).