By Glenn Mason at Aviva Stadium

Richard Dunne made his long-awaited comeback from injury in the Republic of Ireland's 4-0 win over ten-man Georgia in a low-key friendly at the Aviva Stadium.

The defender, who has been out for almost a year with a groin injury, came off the bench midway through the second half to a standing ovation.

Goals from Richard Keogh, Simon Cox and two from substitute Robbie Keane helped the home side to a comfortable end-of-season victory.

A sparse crowd saw Georgia keeper Giorgi Loria sent-off on 20 minutes after he clobbered stand-in skipper Shane Long outside the box.

Centre-half Keogh gave Ireland the lead on 42 minutes when his downward header from James McClean's free-kick beat substitute keeper Omar Migineishvili.

Keane replaced Andy Keogh at half-time to win his 125th cap and equal Shay Given's Irish record.

Ireland were two up soon after the restart as a pass from Wes Hoolahan cut open the Georgia defence.

McClean's cutback found its way to Cox at the back post and he fired home his fourth international goal.

The home side, and Long in particular, had several chances to increase the lead before Keane nabbed his 55th international goal on 77 minutes.

Substitute Aiden McGeady charged down Irakli Dzaria's clearance and the ball spun loose to Long's replacement, Conor Sammon.

He picked out Keane who had the simple task of tapping the ball into the net.

Keane doubled his tally with just over two minutes left when he took Jeff Hendrick's pass in his stride and passed the ball beyond Migineishvili into the corner.

Republic of Ireland: Kieren Westwood; Paul McShane, Damien Delaney, Richard Keogh, Marc Wilson (Richard Dunne 65); Andy Keogh (Robbie Keane h/t), James McCarthy (Jeff Hendrick 71), Wes Hoolahan (Stephen Quinn 76), James McClean (Aiden McGeady 65); Shane Long (Conor Sammon 71), Simon Cox.

Subs not used: Darren Randolph, Seamus Coleman, Stephen Kelly, Glenn Whelan, David Meyler.

Georgia: Giorgi Loria; Ucha Lobjanidze (David Targamadze h/t), Akaki Khubatia, Zurab Khizanishvili, Dato Kvirkvelia (George Podhkadze 69); Guram Kashia, Murtaz Daushvili (Irakli Dzaria 54), Jaba Kankava, Jano Ananidze (Omar Migineishvili 22), Alexander Kobakhidze (Tornike Gorgiashvili 90); Nicholas Gelashvili (Irakli Maisvradze 61).

Subs not used: Gulverd Tomashvili, Solomon Kverkvella, Mamuka Kobakhidze, Merab Gugauri, David Devdariani.

Referee: Sebastian Constantin Coltescu (Romania)