Richard Dunne has been left out of the Ireland squad to face Germany and the Faroe Islands in the Republic of Ireland’s World Cup qualification double header in October.

Talismanic defender Dunne has been struggling with a groin injury and has yet to feature for his club Aston Villa this season.

The defender will be given every chance to recover in time and has been placed on a stand-by list, alongside young midfielder Robbie Brady.

Also missing from the squad is Everton’s Darron Gibson, who declined his place in the previous Ireland squad because of his disappointment over not playing during Euro 2012.

Gibson is currently out of action with a thigh injury but it is unclear whether the midfielder was omitted due to that injury or not.

Bolton Wanderers midfielder Keith Andrews returns to the Irish fold after missing the narrow victory in Kazakhstan through suspension, while Keith Fahey – who was also absent for that clash – returns too.

There is a place for Sunderland winger James McClean, whose Twitter rant in the wake of the 2-1 victory in Kazakhstan earlier this month cost him a very public dressing down.

Trapattoni indicated the matter was closed by using McClean as a substitute in the 4-1 friendly victory over Oman four days later, and his inclusion suggests any rift has been healed.

However, there is no place for Sunderland midfielder David Meyler, who made his senior international debut in the same game having been drafted into the squad as Gibson's replacement.

Ireland were lucky to take all three points from their opening game in Kazakhstan, but Trapattoni insists they now a platform to build on.

The Ireland manager said, "As we face these important games, we will hope to build on the three points we gained in Kazakhstan.

"Our first game against Germany will be a difficult challenge and the home support will play an important part. We must also remember that we have two matches, and we will be focussing on every detail to pick up points on our journey to qualification for Brazil."

Republic of Ireland squad: Keiren Westwood, David Forde, Darren Randolph, Marc Wilson, John O’Shea, Sean St. Ledger, Darren O’Dea, Stephen Ward, Stephen Kelly, Paul McShane, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Keith Andrews, Keith Fahey, Seamus Coleman, Aiden McGeady, Andy Keogh, James McClean, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long, Simon Cox, Jon Walters

Standby List: Richard Dunne, Robbie Brady