Kevin Foley's Euro 2012 dreams were shattered on Tuesday when he was left out of the Republic of Ireland's final squad because of injury, Giovanni Trapattoni has confirmed.

The Wolves defender's place will be taken by Paul McShane, who is in Italy with the party after being drafted in as defensive cover amid a series of fitness concerns.

Foley reported with a hamstring problem and has been working ever since in an effort to shake it off, but this morning, he became the second man to miss because of a knock after Keith Fahey last Saturday.

Manager Giovanni Trapattoni said: "With the injuries that we experienced in the squad over the past week, I have had to make a tough decision when it comes to naming the 23 players that must be submitted to UEFA for the championship.

"Kevin Foley, John O’Shea, Paul McShane, Darren O’Dea, Shay Given had all been carrying knocks and we have been monitoring them closely in their recovery.

"Although Kevin has been recovering well, I have made the difficult decision to leave him out of the 23 player list after completing fitness tests on John O’Shea and Paul Mc Shane this morning. I have spoken to him and understand how difficult it is, saying that he can remain with the squad if he wishes.”

Ironically, Foley trained at the Stadio Comunale Alberto Benedetti in Borgo A Buggiano last night, while McShane did not after suffering a bruised heel during Saturday's 1-0 friendly victory over Bosnia-Herzegovina in Dublin.

The Republic play a Tuscan Select XI in a friendly in Pistoia this evening on a day when they and the inhabitants of Montecatini, the Italian spa town where they have based themselves for this week's training camp, felt the tremors from this morning's earthquake around 50 miles to the north.

Republic of Ireland squad numbers:

1 Shay Given

2 Sean St Ledger

3 Stephen Ward

4 John O’Shea

5 Richard Dunne

6 Glenn Whelan

7 Aiden McGeady

8 Keith Andrews

9 Kevin Doyle

10 Robbie Keane

11 Damien Duff

12 Stephen Kelly

13 Paul McShane

14 Jonathan Walters

15 Darron Gibson

16 Keiren Westwood

17 Stephen Hunt

18 Darren O'Dea

19 Shane Long

20 Simon Cox

21 Paul Green

22 James McClean

23 David Forde