The sides were level at 1-1 at full-time and had to face extra-time. Indeed, before the period of additional time, England coach Alf Ramsey said to his troops: 'you've won it once - now win it again.'

The moment of controversy came close to the end of the first half of extra-time when Geoff Hurst was fed the ball in the penalty area. Hurst turned and shot, only to see the ball hit the crossbar and then seemingly bounce down on the line.

The unsighted referee certainly didn't know whether or not the ball had gone over, and went to consult with the now infamous Russian linesman.

After a tense delay, the linesman pointed to the centre circle to indicate a goal. Modern day technology has since proved that the ball did not fully cross the line but England went on that day to lift the World Cup.