Coach: Paul Le Guen

Key Player: Samuel Eto'o

World Ranking: 19

World Cup Record: Five appearances: – Quarter-finalists in 1990

Group E Schedule:
14 June – Japan v Cameroon
19 June – Cameroon v Denmark
24 June – Cameroon v Netherlands

Cameroon are a side in transit, coming to the end of one golden generation and hoping a new and similarly successful one emerges.

The glue in the transition is Samuel Eto'o, the recently appointed captain who helped to drag the side out of a precarious position in the qualifiers and ensure a record sixth appearance for an African side at a World Cup finals.

Geremi and Rigobert Song are clinging on to their spots in the team but are now at the end of their long international careers.

Others such as Jean Makoun and Stephane Mbia have not yet convinced that they have potential to become the new leaders of the team.

Eto'o is the pivot around which the team revolves and has a chance to further enhance his status as one of the world's top strikers.

Mohamadou Idrissou is likely to partner him. Alexandre Song will be the midfield general and Benoit Assou-Ekotto and Sebastien Bassong are key in defence.

Provisional Squad:

Goalkeepers: Guy Roland N'Dy Assembe (Valenciennes), Idriss Carlos Kameni (Espanyol), Hamidou Souleymanou (Kayserispor), Patrick Tignyemb (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Defenders: Patrick Abouna (Astres Douala), Benoit Assou Ekotto (Tottenham Hotspur), Sebastien Bassong (Tottenham Hotspur), Gaetan Bong (Valenciennes), Aurelien Chedjou (Lille), Geremi (Ankaragucu), Boukar Makadji (Al Nahdha), Nicolas Nkoulou (Monaco), Rigobert Song (Trabzonspor)

Midfielders: Achille Emana (Real Betis), Enoh Eyong (Ajax Amsterdam), Jean Makoun (Olympique Lyon), Georges Mandjeck (Kaiserslautern), Joel Matip (Schalke 04), Patrick Mevoungou (Canon Yaounde), Marcel Ndjeng (Augsburg), Landry Nguemo (Celtic), Alexandre Song (Arsenal)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Coton Sport), Eric Choupo-Mating (Nuremburg), Paul Alo'o Efoulou (Nancy), Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan), Mohamadou Idrissou (Freiburg), Dorge Kouemaha (Club Bruges), Achille Webo (Real Mallorca), Jacques Zoua (Basle)