Substitute Paul Deasy claimed a last minute equaliser as Cork City earned a 2-2 Setanta Sports Cup draw at The Showgrounds this evening.

Deasy got on the end of a cross from another substitute, Gareth Cambridge, in the 90th minute, as Rovers had to be content with a point from their first appearance in the competition.

Richie Ryan and Dean Marshall scored their first goals of the season as Rovers came from behind once Guntars Silagailis had put the visitors ahead.

Rovers made 10 changes to the team that defeated Bohs in the FAI Ford Cup on Tuesday, with centre-back Martin Camano the only survivor.

Local youngsters Barry O’Mahony and Keith Duffy were handed debuts, while Ciaran Kelly was given his first start of the season in goal.

O’Mahony had the game’s first chance, when he tested Mark McNulty with an early shot after Owen Morrison set him up on the edge of the box.

But Cork were in front after just 16 minutes, when Billy Dennehy evaded two challenges down the left and crossed from deep for Silagailis to fire to the net.

Rovers grew in confidence as the half progressed, and lone striker Rob Turner set up Darren Meenan for a shot at goal that skimmed wide.

And Turner was again involved in the build-up when midfielder Ryan broke into the area and fired low past McNulty for the equaliser on the stroke of half-time.

Rovers were in front just before the hour-mark, when Marshall won possession in the Cork half and broke clear on goal before firing low past McNulty.

Rovers introduced Danny Ventre and Eoin Doyle to strengthen their defence, but Deasy popped up with the equaliser in the final minute, when he tapped home at the back post after some good work by Cambridge on the left.

Sligo Rovers: 19 Ciaran Kelly; 28 Keith Duffy (5 Danny Ventre 67), 24 Ger Rafter (18 Eoin Doyle 78), 21 Martin Camano, 2 Alan Keane; 22 Dean Marshall, 23 Darren Meenan, 27 Barry O’Mahony, 8 Richie Ryan, 11 Owen Morrison (26 Mark McGoldrick 59); 15 Rob Turner.

Substitutes not used: 1 Richard Brush, 6 Conor O’Grady, 10 Raffaele Cretaro, 12 Matthew Blinkhorn.

Cork City: 16 Mark McNulty; 14 Cillian Lordan, 5 Greg O’Halloran (27 Gareth Cambridge 41), 4 Stephen Mulcahy, 3 Danny Murphy; 25 Davin O’Neill, 24 Stephen O’Donnell, 8 Joe Gamble, 11 Billy Dennehy; 10 Fahrudin Kuduzovic, 9 Guntars Silagailis (20 Paul Deasy 75).

Substitutes not used: 1 Dan Connor, 19 Ian Turner, 23 Robbie Watters.

Referee: Damien Hancock (Dublin).