The Football Association of Ireland have confirmed the nominations for the 18th eircom/FAI International Awards, which will be broadcast live on RTÉ and RTÉ.ie next February.

The nominations, which were chosen by a panel from the Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland, are divided into 18 categories, including a Hall of Fame Award, a Special Merit Award and an International Personality Award.

Shay Given, winner of the senior award last year, is again nominated for his heroics between the posts, while centre-back Richard Dunne and centre-forward Kevin Doyle are also in contention for the top prize.

This year’s ceremony sees the introduction of a new category of Women’s Under-17 International Player of the Year as the Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-17 team progressed into the elite qualifying phase of the first ever UEFA Championship at this age group. 

The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday 3 February in Dublin's CityWest Hotel and all winners will be announced live on the night.

RTÉ Sport will broadcast the awards live on RTÉ Two television and throughout the island of Ireland here on RTÉ.ie from 8pm.

The nominations are:

Kevin Doyle (Reading)
Richard Dunne (Manchester City)
Shay Given (Newcastle United)

Stephen Ireland (Manchester City)
Shane Long (Reading)
Aiden McGeady (Celtic)

Darren O’Dea (Celtic)
Stephen O’Halloran (Aston Villa)
Stephen Quinn (Sheffield United)

Eircom League of Ireland
Dave Mooney (Longford Town)
Brian Murphy (Bohemians)
Brian Shelley (Drogheda United)

Keith Treacy (Blackburn Rovers)
Eddie Nolan (Blackburn Rovers)
Adam Rooney (Stoke City)

Ian Daly (Manchester City)
Laurence Gaughan (Celtic)
Conor McCormick (Manchester United)

Conor Clifford (Chelsea)
John Dunleavy (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Aaron Doran (Blackburn Rovers)

FAI Schools International
Pat Mullins (CBS, Sexton Street, Limerick)
Peter McMahon (St Macartan’s College, Monaghan)
Richard O’Donovan (Presentation College, Cork)

Junior International
David Lacey (Killester United)
Seamus Crowe (Athenry FC)
Stephen O'Mahony (Lisselton Celtic)

Paul McCabe (Crumlin United)
Declan O'Connell (Douglas Hall FC)
Brendan O'Connell (Avondale United)

Football For All Award
Christine Kelly (Special Olympics Women)
Kieran Woods (Irish Schools)
Derek Jordan (Irish Deaf Team) (Moate Celtic)

Women’s International
Emma Byrne (Arsenal)
Sarah Peters (Seattle Saunders)
Niamh Fahey (Salthill Devon)

Women’s Under-19 International
Lynn Dowling (Lynsey Wilton College, Kentucky)
Aine O'Gorman (Stella Maris)
Louise Quinn (Peamount United) 

Women’s Under-17 International
Julienne Russell (Salthill Devon)
Karen Duggan (Piltown)
Gillian McDonnell (Dundalk City)

Goal of the Year
Kevin Doyle (Away v Slovakia)
Stephen Ireland (Home v Wales)
Robbie Keane (Away v Wales)

The Hall of Fame, Special Merit and International Personality Awards will be announced on the night.

The eircom International Goal of the Year will be decided by public vote, details of which will follow at a later date.