Thierry Henry felt 'more than angry' after having what looked a perfectly good equaliser disallowed against CSKA Moscow in Russia.

Arsenal were not helped by the dubious state of the pitch, and had gone behind to a fierce strike from Brazilian Daniel Carvalho from a well-worked free-kick midway through the first half.

However, the visitors thought they had snatched a late equaliser when Henry controlled a deep cross from the right at the far post with his chest, and stroked the ball into the net.

However, Spanish referee Manuel Enrique Mejuto Gonzalez felt that the French striker had in fact used his arm, ruled out the goal and booked the Arsenal skipper.

Manager Arsene Wenger was left incensed by the decision, which could have kept the Gunners top of Group G.

His captain was also less than impressed.

'I am more than angry,' declared Henry. 'If you look at the replay, you will see that it is not handball. I was shocked the referee gave me a yellow card. It was a good goal.'

Henry insisted: 'Do you think if the keeper had seen handball, he would not have reacted and appealed for it?

'We did not play that great to win the game, but a draw would have been a good result.'

Wenger also hit out at the Spanish match official.

'The referee has not seen anything,' the Arsenal boss said. 'I felt it was a goal.'